ICT is taught as a discrete subject to all secondary year classes except the Topic groups.

Key Stage 3:
Autumn 1: Programming using Scratch and BBC MicroBits
Autumn 2: Presentations using MS PowerPoint
Spring 1: Working online looking at how to use the internet safely and emailing
Spring 2: Spreadsheets using MS Excel
Summer 1: Creating a leaflet using MS Publisher
Summer 2: Exploring uses of ICT in our lives using software such as SketchUp 3D and Photoshop.

Key Stage 4:
Depending on their pathway, pupils will either study the OCR ITQ qualification in ICT, or the OCR Cambridge National ICT GCSE.  We are trialling the use of Functional Skills as an alternative to ITQ. All practical assessments are done during ICT lessons at school.

ITQ units of work are assessed either by multiple choice tests or a practical assessment in a range of ICT functions including: internet safety, presentations, email, imaging, spreadsheets, and mobile devices.

OCR Cambridge National consists of one externally examined unit which looks at how ICT can be used to meet business needs, and practical assessments including using ICT to create business solutions, spreadsheets, and creating promotional materials.

Functional Skills covers: Using ICT, File Management and Hardware, Finding, Selecting, Checking and Printing information, Analysing and Presenting information, E-mail and Safe and Respectful working. Qualifications range from Entry Level to Level 2.

In addition, all secondary classes follow a planned program of learning activities relating to E-safety and how to use a computer appropriately.